She loves me.

Yesterday Blythe stayed with Brooks for a good chunk of the day so I could have some very much needed me time. Haven’t had that in awhile, and I believe it is very important for a mom to have those times…not only for her sanity, but for her family’s well being. Haha…no seriously.

So anyway, I was out and about having coffee in a cup from a coffee shop, getting a facial, getting a haircut, listening to adult music…all that good stuff. It was so great! And then this morning, I was sitting on the couch with my sweet Blythe and she says, “Mommy, when are you gonna go do stuff again so I can stay with Daddy?” I thought, oh how sweet, she had so much fun with her Daddy. And then she said, “Because he plays with me a lot more than you sometimes do.”

Wow. Honesty from a 4 year old. I immediately start trying to justify in my head why I can’t play with her every second of every day and there are things that just need to be done. We have to have clean clothes, I have to load to the dishwasher, I’ve got things to sew, pictures to edit, blah, blah, blah…and then she interupts my thoughts. She leans into me, cuddles into my arm and says, “Mommy, I love you so much.” And then everything was okay.

And in that moment I heard the Lord say to me, “She knows. You have given her that security to know she is loved. And that kind of security doesn’t just come from one day, but from her 4 years of  life.”

And so I sighed…happily.

This entry was posted in Blythe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

